Considering Walking for Knee Pain Relief? Walking Will Help Your Knee Pain

I was starting to have “crabby” knees, and decided I had to do something about it.

I remembered working with a man who had severe damage to both knees.  He told me he could walk without pain, even on stairs, as long as he kept the muscles around his knees strong.  He did this with machine weight training.

I thought about him, and decided maybe I could strengthen my legs by walking.

So I began my “serious” walking program, and I have noticed lots of benefits already.  Several are benefits that I wasn’t quite expecting and am very pleased with.

I would have said before that I “walked,” but really, it was more like strolling, stopping to smell the flowers on the way.

So I decided I had better get serious.

I started walking as fast as I could while still able to breathe and talk.  In time, I could walk even farther and faster, with fewer breaks.

I already knew how to let my arms swing from my shoulders (thumbs forward, like shaking hands) and to hold my chest high.  I knew how to “roll” my foot from heel to toe.

So, off I went.

When I started just three weeks ago I had several reasons for walking.

  • I’m going on a hiking trip and wanted to be able to easily keep up.
  • I wanted to strengthen my heart with aerobic activity, but I hate bouncing around.
  • My doctor asks me, “What are you doing for aerobic exercise?”  I always tell her I do massage all day long, but she doesn’t buy it.
  • I wanted to drop a few pounds.

But, most importantly,

  • I wanted my knees to have less discomfort.  I noticed they were starting to be painful and creaky when moving to a standing position from a seat.
  • One day I realized my knees weren’t quite “working right” when I wanted to get up from the floor.  I wanted to; they didn’t.  I didn’t like that, either.

Here are the benefits I have already received from my walking program.

  • My legs feel stronger (and they were already strong.)
  • My knees have no discomfort.  It is much easier to stand from a seated position.  In fact, it’s just plain easy again.
  • My back is stronger and straighter.  (I didn’t expect this benefit.  I am sure that it was caused by the proper arm movement during walking.)  This is a big benefit when sitting, standing and working.
  • Stairs are easier, too.
  • Of course, I also feel more energetic.

I know there are a lot of different causes for knee pain.  I also know that, most of the time, pain in the legs and knees is caused by a muscular imbalance.

Walking can help correct your muscular imbalance.

And, if overweight is part of the cause for your knee (hip and ankle) pain, then walking will be doubly beneficial for you.

Here’s an example.

I met a woman in her thirties who had lost a couple of hundred pounds by walking.  She told me she did not change her diet at all!  When she first began walking, she could go only 6 houses down the street.  Eventually she could go around the block, then farther and farther.  By the time I met her, she was normal weight and race-walking.

So there you have it, and I have faith in you that you can do it.  If you’d like a free report I wrote about walking without pain and being a happy walker, please go to http://WalkingSmart.com

17 thoughts on “Considering Walking for Knee Pain Relief? Walking Will Help Your Knee Pain

    • Hello Henry,

      I agree! Walking is very beneficial! Sometimes it takes some practice to get it just right.

      Why? When we were little children we learned it “just right.” But that was when we were always active and used all of our muscles all the time.

      As adults, walking is a great way to start using all of our muscles again. 🙂

      Thank you for writing!

      Kathryn
      http://ThePainReliefCoach.com

    • Hi Sharanya,

      There are many reasons for knee pain and most of them involve muscles. If you can, do exercises that cause you to strengthen the muscles of your legs without using stress on your knees. For instance, when seated, lift your lower legs. Or when standing, lift your thigh or lift your foot toward your buttock.

      You may have trigger points in some of your leg muscles that are causing your knee pain. But you may also have weak legs or muscles that are stronger on one side of your leg than the other. For example, the fronts of your thighs may be stronger than the back of your thighs.

      Search your thigh muscles to look for tender areas. If you can get onto the floor, you can do this with something like a tennis ball or rolled, tied towel. Roll or press against the ball or towel looking for tender places. When you find one, hold the pressure for about 12 seconds. That will help the muscle relax.

      If you can possibly get to a professional massage therapist who practices trigger point therapy he or she can help you by relaxing any trigger points or tight muscles. Muscles are to blame for most of our pain including knee pain.

      I hope this helps you get rid of your knee pain naturally.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

  1. Hi. I am a 46 year old Female. Used to walk for an hour or more,n6 days a week.
    Past one year, am unable to walk for more than 10 min, without pain or limping.
    Pleasantly plump, I realise strengthening is way to go, tho am going to a PT for the past one yr, muscles have toned but no relief In pain while walking.
    Really miss my walks,fresh air and friends.
    Pls advise

    • Hi Kamini,

      I wonder whether the pain is behind your knee? (That is my intuitive guess–am I right?) Or perhaps it’s behind your knee cap? Please write back and tell me exactly where you feel the pain. That will give me more clues. 🙂

      Thank you,
      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

      • Thank you Kathryn for your prompt reply.
        Yes, pain keeps shifting .Sometimes the medial side of knee, sometimes behind knee.
        Have been workingnonnstrengthening exercises of all leg muscles,yet, when I walk,shop etc for o than 15 min, I starting feeling the pain and sometimes hv to limp.

        Do u think it is worth strengthening longer? PT is quite expensive.

        Thanks and regards,
        Kamini

      • Hi Kamini,

        It sounds as though you may have trigger points in your hamstring muscles. Strengthening won’t help until the trigger points are released or relax. Ask your PT if she or he knows how to press on them to help them relax. I would hope your therapist has access to the Travell & Simons Trigger Point Manuals. If not, or if you want to try at home, here’s how:

        The goal is to apply pressure to tender, tight areas in your hamstring muscles in the back of your thigh. I suppose the easiest way to apply pressure at home is to sit on a hard chair. Place a tennis ball or rolled small towel under the back of your thigh. Move it around from place to place as you look for tender areas. When you find one, apply pressure for about twelve seconds. You can go back to an area several times if you have to. If you feel as though the pressure is getting less, that means your muscle is relaxing. 🙂

        Besides the hamstrings there are muscles directly behind the knee (on the outside of the back of the knee) which can cause kneecap pain but by your description my best long-distance guess is the hamstring muscles.

        Also, when you DO strengthen, I’m thinking it’s the hamstrings that need it most. They may just be complaining when your front-of-thigh muscles start working because they (hamstrings) are not strong enough to keep up with the quadriceps in the front of the thigh.

        You’re welcome and I hope the pain in the back of your knee and inner part of your knee is gone soon! I’d love to hear your results so you can get walking again. 🙂

        Kathryn
        The Pain Relief Coach

      • Hi there,
        Am so excited there s,a qualified PT out there listening to me….whooooaand answering too.
        Letme give u my history.walker for about 6 years, now stopped with knee pain .
        Also used to do some basic yogastretches .
        Went to see a doc who believes in Trigger release and hav also been strengthening under his guidance..feel,muscles are toning up but probs of pain remain.
        Daily I stretch all imp muscles for15 @minu then do the excerCise set out for the day,
        Without too much walking around no pain..when I start to walk
        Pain starts..
        Almost tried sthis trigger, strength therapy for about 10 months.
        what to do?….feel so much of self pity

      • Hi Kamini,

        I’m glad you are excited but I’m not a PT. 🙂 But did the doctor DO trigger point releases with his fingers or hands applying pressure? That’s how they are best released but some doctors use injections to release the trigger points. Sometimes they are placed properly, sometimes now.

        Please consider trying the self-trigger point therapy that I mentioned in our last messages. Another option might be to buy or borrow from a library a self-help trigger point book. http://budurl.com/PainRelief2 is a list of my favorite natural pain relief books and the blue book by Claire Davies is excellent!

        You see, when there are unresolved trigger points they prevent normal movement. They also cause pain. Unless you have blood vessel or heart disease which is causing your leg pain, from this place I’m thinking it’s trigger point related.

        Remember, bodies heal all the time! 🙂 That means yours, too, Kamini. 🙂

        Kathryn
        The Pain Relief Coach

    • Hi Rewa,

      Good question: Is it harmful to walk if you have osteoporosis?

      Bones get weak when the muscles do not pull on them as they should. Weight-bearing exercise (like walking) strengthens bones. Whether you can walk long distances will depend on where your osteoporosis is (spine? hip?)

      I would expect walking to strengthen your hip and leg bones because the muscles around your hips will typically get stronger and so pull more on the pelvic and leg bones which, in turn, will make the bones stronger.

      If the osteoporosis is more in your spine, that may be because of your posture. If your posture is collapsing forward, it weakens the spine bones.

      I would love to see you walk, of course, but the best expert for you on this question would be the doctor who told you that you have osteoporosis.

      Also, as a point of interest, when older people “fall and break a hip” more often the bone broke all by itself and that is what caused the fall. That is what happens with severe osteoporosis.

      Using your muscles, walking, eating foods with calcium and minerals, getting sunshine and Vitamin D3 and exercise are all things to help prevent osteoporosis.

      Thank you for writing and have a pleasant walk!

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

    • Dear Rewa,

      Your leg bones will be strengthened by using your muscles and by walking. Weight-bearing exercise strengthens bones and walking is weight-bearing. 🙂

      If your osteoporosis is so severe that you are concerned about bones breaking from walking, please ask your doctor. As a general rule, walking is excellent.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

  2. Both my knees were bad I was walking with a cane, thinking about surgery cause I was in so much pain I couldn’t get up without help.. I decided I was going to walk,4 days no pain no cane, my back, hip, does not hurt I text my daughter and told her could it be possible that walking help knee pain. I just look it up and I found this information , I am never stop walking again .

    • Dear Julia,

      I am so happy you are finding relief from your knee pain! Sitting is very hard on knees. Walking helps the muscles become balanced again.

      If you have the chance to use a swimming pool, you can kick your legs while holding the edge of the pool even if you cannot swim (that’s what I do) and that movement will also help strengthen your legs.

      Good job, Julia! Keep up the good work. 🙂

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

  3. Hi kathryn. Thank you so much for the information on swimming kicking your legs,I know I have a long ways to go but I am never going to stop walking again, and hopefully I will be running again. Reading everyone comments help also because you think that you are along for me this is like group therapy or support. Thank you Julia

    • Dear Julia,

      Thank you for writing and letting me know of your progress. I am proud of your determination! Your body was built to move and moving will help keep you strong and healthy.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

Leave a Reply

