Legs Feeling Weak Or Achey? How Balancing Can Help Your Legs Get Stronger

If your legs feel weak, or achey, here’s a solution for you.

We were built for movement and when we don’t move enough – when we spend too much time in a chair or car – our leg muscles get out of balance and lose strength.  Balance and strength occur when we use our legs. When we use our legs, and they are strong, we feel stable instead of weak.

When your legs are out of balance – some muscles are weaker than others – then you get aches and pains in your legs.  When your muscles are out of balance, they pull on the bones in a different way than they are supposed to.  This causes arthritis.

Some savvy doctors recommend that their older patients take tai chi classes.  Tai chi (pronounced ti-chee) is done standing, and the people who practice it develop strong legs and good balance.

Here’s a simple strengthening movement that you can do at home or anywhere.

Stand near a piece of furniture, like the back of a chair.  Stand close enough so that you can use the chair back as a support for one hand, if you need it.  (And you will probably need it until your balance improves.)

Lift one foot off the ground, and tuck it behind your other calf.

Let go of the chair and try to balance on the foot that is still on the floor.

Keep your hand very close to the chair back in case you need to support yourself.

While you are balancing on one foot, you are using all of the muscles in that foot and leg.  You will notice that the pressure in your foot moves from front to back and side to side.  Your body is trying to keep its’ balance.

Standing on one foot and balancing like this actually relaxes all of the muscles in your foot and leg, because all of the muscles are being used.  You are creating and achieving muscular balance!

Try to balance for one minute.  When you start to become better at balancing, you can do two minutes or more.

When you are done with your first leg, then practice balancing on your other foot.

An interesting side effect occurs, and it is a good one!  Your legs will be less achey.  They will feel refreshed.  Why?  Because you are using all of your leg muscles, and your body likes that.

Use this new skill to strengthen your legs and get rid of weak and achey legs.

If you click here –> http://KathrynMerrow.com you will find links to all of my natural pain relief websites.

And if you want to get a free report about walking please click here –> http://WalkingSmart.com   Walking is a great way to get stronger legs and feel better all over.  Get the report because even if your legs feel weak or ache, walking can help!

25 thoughts on “Legs Feeling Weak Or Achey? How Balancing Can Help Your Legs Get Stronger

  1. Very quick and effective method. My legs have felt weak and achy since I’ve been working an office job for the past year or so and having little time to get to the gym. This method helped me tonight and I plan to utilize it before, during, and after work. Thanks!

  2. I had an accident, the shine bone fractured and was operate on with 4 steel rods inserted. 3 months later it was removed and the wound needs medicial treatment (dressing). Now my fracture leg are getting weak and can walk slowly with the help of the walking stick slight pain. How to over come this problem and wish to strenghen the weak leg. It has been 8 months now. Thanks !

    • Hello Thomas,

      I am sorry to hear of your accident and am glad you are recovering. I am also glad you are walking again. It is good to move. Here are my thoughts for you:

      When you walk, imagine that you are walking perfectly, as you used to. Even imagine this when you are resting. Breathe and remember how it was when your heel touched the ground, and then your foot rolled to your toes. Try to roll your recovering foot in the same way when you walk.

      When you are resting (sitting or laying down) lift your toes. This strengthens the muscles in the front of your leg (shin).

      If you tighten your calf muscles, that will make them stronger. But we want the muscles to be balanced in front and back so do both the shin and calf muscles.

      Can you reach your lower leg? If so, rub and massage it. Feel for tender areas and rub them thoughtfully. Apply pressure but not to the point of extreme pain. Massage will help with the healing and recovery. If you still have an open wound do not rub it directly; rather rub at a short distance from the wound.

      When you are in bed, roll your un-injured ankle in a circle 10 times. Rest for 10 seconds and see how it feels. Now roll it in the opposite direction. Then do the same thing on your recovering leg. Do the movement thoughtfully and rest for 10 seconds before reversing the circle.

      Another movement you can make is also in bed on your back: Starting with your un-injured ankle, tilt your foot to the left and right, 10 times each. Rest and see how it feels. Now do the same movement on your other leg, thoughtfully.

      Only go as far and as often as you can with new movements. These movements will help improve your circulation and relax tight muscles. They will also help you strengthen your injured leg.

      When you rest or dream, imagine your leg is getting stronger, healthier and without pain. Tell your leg how happy you are that it is healing.

      You can find more articles I have written at http://SimpleStrengthening.com and http://SimplePainRelief.com

      I hope this helps and look forward to your full recovery. Thank you for writing.

      Kathryn

      Kathryn Merrow
      The Pain Relief Coach

  3. Dear kathryn Merrow,
    Much appreciate for your advice. I will keep on exercising to strenghten the legs as instructed. Many thanks !!

  4. Pingback: ergonomic office chairs Perth

  5. Have not walked for 3 years because of agoraphobia and have just got out but legs ache so much with just 10 steps, anything I can do like marching on the spot to get stronger?

    • Hi Helena, Absolutely there are other things you can do to start getting stronger legs!

      > When you are sitting on a chair you can ‘march’ by lifting your knees, one at a time.
      > You can march in place.
      > You can walk through the house. Do you have stairs? They are a good walking tool, too.
      > When you are in bed, there are many ways to move your legs that will use the muscles. You can rock one leg at a time from side to side. You can roll your feet in circles. You can point your toes toward your nose (that will strengthen the fronts of your lower legs.)
      > You can squat part-way down and come back up before your seat hits the seat.
      > And you can balance on one foot at a time. That uses all of the muscles in your foot and leg.

      Good job getting over the agoraphobia and I hope this helps you get moving again. Your leg muscles are not used to movement yet but by starting slowly and paying attention to how your muscles feel when you move them you will soon be walking happy.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

  6. Hi there – thank you so much for your advice! I am here in the UK and although I have tried to just get an answer, for far YOU are the only one who has bothered.

    I cannot say how grateful I am and will start today, promise.

    Helena

  7. May I ask another quick one please as I am following your exercises for my legs. Have not walked for 3 years and also have spinal stenosis, so back can be agony only when I walk, it stiffens up and I cannot bend forward and support myself at all, have to hold on.

    Anything at all I can do at home to try and loosen my back? Doctors will not do anything to help. Any ideas please.

    Helena

    • Hi Helena, You may ask all the questions you would like.

      Spinal stenosis means that your spine bones are not lined up perfectly anymore. This can mean the vertebrae (spine bones) have shifted to the left or right or slid backward. Not all of them, just some of them, maybe only one. That causes nervy or uncomfortable sensations because the nerves that come from between the vertebrae are getting a little squashed and they don’t like it.

      Bending forward makes the bones move even more into the inappropriate position. That’s why bending forward feels worse.

      I don’t know your age or other condition but here are a few things that can likely help get those bones back to where they started and away from the nerves:

      1. If you have access to an inversion table or slant board (where your head is somewhat lower than your feet) this will help make a bit more space between your spine bones. For some people, this is all that they need. It gives a stretch to all the tissues in your back. And you don’t have to hang upside down to benefit. Just having your head about 5 inches lower than your feet can help. An inversion table holds your ankles in place so your spine gets just a bit longer.

      2. You know how babies have a nice forward arch behind their waist? We need to have that arch. If you don’t (and I suspect you do not) then you can work on re-developing that curve in your lower back. Here is an article about that: http://www.simplebackpainrelief.com/lower-back-pain/gentle-movement-will-help-get-rid-of-lower-back-pain/

      You will find many more articles there about low back pain and some of the others may also be helpful to you, Helena. Just scroll down through the list of articles on the right hand side at http://SimpleBackPainRelief.com.

      Since you gave me more information I want to update the leg exercises I gave to you previously. Do NOT do the squat-like movements unless you can ‘stick your butt out’ when you do them. If you have lost that low back curve you may do them improperly with a rounded out back and that could increase your symptoms.

      Instead I suggest doing movements where you lift one leg behind you so that you feel your buttock muscles on that side working a little. That will also help you recreate that lower back curve.

      And a good massage therapist can help you loosen the tight muscles in the front and back of your spine.

      Helena, remember that I am not a doctor. :-) I look forward to you starting to feel better quickly.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

      • Hello again and thank you once again. I am aware that you are not a doctor but honestly you have given me simple and straightforward answers, which I can actually work on. I have seen chiropractors and all the rest. I do not hope or expect a cure, just some relief. You are right! I cannot do the squats and I knew that immediately so left it out. Have walked round the house, done balancing, marched every day since I got your reply, I will up this slowly.
        You may think me crazy but your words and simple exercises have given me some hope when I felt I had none. You should be here in the UK!!!!
        Helena
        PS Thought at first just a machine answerd questions, how wrong I was, you are a truly helpful person.

      • Dear Helena,

        Thank you very much. My job is to help people feel better naturally by explaining how bodies and muscles work. I don’t think you are crazy at all–rather, I believe you want to get well and feel better and just needed some encouragement, as we all do.

        Most people don’t understand how bodies work (not even doctors!) but your body is very smart and wants to be well. Simple movements can make a big difference when they are the movements that your body wants.

        Thank you for taking care of you,
        Kathryn
        The Pain Relief Coach

  8. I used to on hiking but from last 2 years i never practiced hiking. Recently my old friend sararnged a short trip to a mountain. However on the way i felt that my legs are weak and my knees go ahead of my legs and my legs can not carry the load of my body. I was feeling tirednes in my legs and for 1 week i was feeling dull type of pain. now 1 month has passed but still i feel weaknes in my legs, specialy when i walk or try to walk fast. My age is 40 years.
    Please, have any some got any idea what i should do? I am very upset.

    • Hi Ayaz, I am sorry for my delay responding. Perhaps by now you are all better! :)

      Your description makes me think there is pressure on the nerves in your lower back. This can happen from posture or the common positions that you use. I would suggest doing movements for your low back muscles, for instance, flexing your trunk forward and backward. You are supposed to have a small hollow behind your waist. If you do not, that means the muscles in the front of your abdomen, hips and thighs are tight and need to be stretched or relaxed with therapy.

      Another possibility is a blood vessel or heart issue but you are quite young for that. That would require a doctor’s care.

      Right now, I’m going with the possibility of a weakness being caused by lack of use of your muscles or by muscles around your spine causing pressure on the nerves that run to your legs. You see, in either case, I am leaning strongly to muscles being the root of the problem. I hope this helps give you an idea for getting rid of the weak feeling in your legs. Muscles can be treated by stretching, strengthening or massage therapy.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

  9. Hello, just out of the blue my legs got really weak were I could barley walk. now I can walk but my legs get tired fast and by no time i am limping and am very unbalanced. also I do the elliptical every day about 2-4 miles 7 resistance and uphill at 19 but once i get off i barley can walk then also it feels like weights are on my legs and I limp . I also cant jump or run. I don’t know what caused this except me having a b-12 deficiency but is there anything I can do to help all of this and have a normal life again?

    • Hi Heather, Your description makes me think there is pressure on the nerves in your lower back. This can happen from posture or the common positions that you use, like when you are on the treadmill. I would suggest doing movements for your low back muscles, for instance, flexing your trunk forward and backward, to help relax and balance those muscles. You are supposed to have a small hollow behind your waist. If you do not, that means the muscles in the front of your abdomen, hips and thighs are “too” tight and need to be stretched or relaxed with massage therapy.

      A doctor could do tests to rule out any possible neurological disorders and this is not a bad idea.

      Right now, I’m thinking the weakness may be caused by overuse of your muscles causing a muscle imbalance that is pulling on your spine and causing pressure on the nerves that run to your legs. You see, in either case, I am leaning strongly to muscles being the root of the problem. I hope this helps give you an idea for getting rid of the weak feeling in your legs. Muscles can be treated by stretching, strengthening or massage therapy.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

    • Being so young is very good because you will respond quickly to the appropriate movements or massage techniques to help the muscles in the front of your body relax. But, Heather, if you give your legs a break and work gently for a couple of weeks (strongly suggested!) and if during that time you start either a stretching program for the fronts of your legs and/or seeing a massage therapist to help those muscles relax (or both), and if you don’t start to feel improvement, then please see a doctor for an assessment.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

    • Hi Heather, Muscles move bones. If the muscles are relaxed (or strengthened) around a joint or bones, the bones can move back to where they ought to be. I would always vote first for massage by a skilled therapist. Every now and then, though, I do hear of great results when someone has seen a chiropractor. Lots of chiropractors have massage therapists in their office because it makes the adjustment easier for both the patient and the chiropractor. But when adjustments don’t hold, it’s because the muscles are pulling the bones back out of alignment. :) Hope this helps.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

  10. Hi Kathryn,
    Here I am again, name Thomas, previously I had an accident operated on March 22, 2011 and many thanks for your advice which helps.
    Now, my problem is my hip bone feeling very sore and painfull especially got up in the morning. I can’t stand or walk properly without support by holding onto something to move on. I need your advice on how to exercise to overcome it.
    I suspect the hip bone maybe out of alignment. To relieve the pain
    I am taking pain killer.

    • Hi Thomas,

      Good to hear from you. I am sorry to hear you have hip pain. Here is the link to an article about hip pain. It contains the link to an interview about hip pain. I hope you are able to listen to the interview.

      http://simplepainrelief.com/2010/02/25/hip-pain-relief-naturally/

      Do you sleep on your side? Your hip joint can become irritated whether it’s the “up” hip or the “down” hip. In one case, it gets strained. In the other case, it gets squashed. Also, sleeping on your side may cause muscles near your waist to cause pain in your hip.

      The muscles around your hip joint are large and powerful. They pass over the joint so when they are not happy, the joint is not happy.

      My first advice right now, is to please listen to the interview. I think you will find a lot of good information there about how to get rid of your hip pain naturally.

      Kathryn
      The Pain Relief Coach

Leave a Reply

